The following information relates to the first phase of the Consortium (‘VIMC 1.0’, from 2016-2022). A summary of our plans for our new project phase, VIMC 2.0 (2022 – 2027), can be found here.

The Scientific Advisory Board acts as a consulting body to the Consortium Management Group and the Consortium overall. The board members are sought to represent a variety of international health and policy organisations as well as research institutions with a breadth of experience relevant to the Consortium key objectives. The board members were nominated during the first year of the Consortium operations for a five year term.

Scientific Advisory Board members:

Tanimola Akande
Professor of Public Health, University of Ilorin; Nigeria Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation

Patrick Gerland
Chief, Mortality Section at the United Nations Population Division, Demographic Analysis Branch

Bryan Grenfell
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Public Affairs at Princeton University, USA

Ulla Griffiths
Senior Advisor, Immunisation Financing and Health Systems Strengthening at UNICEF USA

Gagandeep Kang
Professor of Microbiology, Head of the Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory at the Christian Medical College, Vellore, India

Katherine O'Brien
Director, Department of Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals, World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland

Additional members pending